Skip to content

Fighting with scenario (part three)

March 13, 2010

Again – just some thoughts  about working on  scenario.

Some  time  ago  I took part in couple of  workshops for screenwriters. And got slightly confused. Everyone on workshops  reapeated  how important is to startle  a reader. You cannot just present ordinary slice-of  life story, about love, family, relationships etc. You have  to make it totally  surprising, surprise reader by form, and by content. I heard that nobody will read graphic novel with long  conversations,  slow  action and plot concentrated  on ordinary life.

Well I like graphic novels  with long  conversations, slow action  and  plot  concentrated  on ordinary life. And my comics is going to be just like that.

Hopefully there’s more people with similar taste 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 2:25 pm

    I know people who read/watch comic in the slice-of-life genre that doesn’t involve action or big drama. Although I do think less people would actually read long conversations when there’s imagery to compete with the words… especially if the font is too small. That’s something to watch out for. Try to break up the conversation into panels, and not concentrated in one or two panels.

    • laguniak permalink*
      March 30, 2010 9:24 am

      Thanks a lot for suggestions. BTW love your work 🙂

      • April 7, 2010 4:04 pm

        No sweat! And thanks, I love your work too 😀 (I think I already said that, but I just said it again!)

Leave a Reply

